Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Chappie: An Existentialist's Nightmare

Neill Blomkamp has finally graced us with what will no doubt be coined the third movie in his "Johannesberg Trilogy" in the form of Chappie, and I can already tell there's going to be a shit-storm of opinions over this newest sci-fi offering. Like Blomkamp's other films District 9 and Elysium, Chappie deals with the complexity of the human condition as it pertains to notions of identity, classicism, and racism. While District 9 was received with critical praise and Elysium (while good) didn't quite hit people's high expectations, I have a feeling Chappie will be received worst of all, in part thanks to its ending.

I'm going to explain the plot now in case you haven't seen it, in which case you probably shouldn't be reading this anyway because I'm going to spoil the shit out of its final act. 

It's the near future and Johannesberg is having great success with its shiny new robotic police force created by young scientist Deon (Dev Patel) who works for a manufacturing company under Michelle Bradley (Sigourney Weaver). He has to deal with the scrutiny of Vincent (Hugh Jackman), a brawny weapons designer whose hulking combat droid the "Moose" is given less favour than Deon's smaller, cuter kin. Cut to bumbling criminals Ninja and Yolandi (played by South African rap-rave group Die Antwoord playing themselves [?] in a weird bit of meta-casting) and Yankie (Jose Pablo Cantillo) as they are thwarted by the robotic police force and later threatened for a large sum of money by a brute of a criminal whose English is so bad it requires subtitles for the whole film. They decide they need a way to bypass the robot police and kidnap Deon just as he's nearing a breakthrough on sentient A.I. and BAM! Chappie (Shartlo Copley) is born into a wild and crazy new world where he must grow, learn, and think for himself.

The film deals with the typical artificial intelligence questions of what makes us human and how do you quantify a soul, and it succeeds largely on those fronts. But then the ending happens, and that's where I could tell most of the audience started to tilt their head and look at the screen funny. In short, it takes a rather daring and fantastical turn.

Spoiler Warning . . .

Chappie is living on a short time frame; his battery has been fused to his chest cavity meaning it can't be replaced and once it runs out, he dies. Grasping with the concept of imminent death the way most people would, he desperately searches for a way to insert his consciousness into another robotic body. While arguing with Deon at the facility where he was created, Chappie steals the neural helmet used to up-link a human brain to Vincent's skulking war machine, even though Deon insists it's impossible to transfer an actual consciousness. As Deon also says earlier in the film, however, any organism with the mind of a human and the processing power of a computer would be able to learn and think faster than any human could ever dream. A few trips to the Internet later and Chappie finds a way to use the helmet to map his neural consciousness. 

Shit inevitably goes down into a climax that involves a massive firefight between Ninja and his gang, the crime lord threatening them, and Vincent's "Moose" robot with poor Deon caught in the middle. Yankie and Yolandi (who has been a surrogate mother to Chappie) are killed, Deon takes a bullet to the gut, and Chappie wrecks the Moose before beating the shit out of Hugh Jackman. In a desperate bid to save Deon's life, Chappie uses his new-found wisdom and neuro-link helmet to transfer Deon's consciousness into the body of a robot, who then quickly transfers Chappie into a newer body. It's also revealed at the end of the film that Chappie had made a backup of Yolandi's consciousness while testing his helmet, and they begin creation of a robot body to "rebirth" her as well. 

The issue I imagine most people will have with the ending is that it seems too fantastical and it happens too fast. The whole premise of the film is based around creating a computer program that perfectly mimics the human brain so as to develop its own personality and character. Science fiction has dealt with that idea for decades so it's not a foreign concept (Spike Jonze's Her presented it in a wickedly touching way), but the notion of transferring the human mind into a machine is a little more tricky. It's a difficult concept to grasp - reading and then "copying" the entirety of what makes a person a person and somehow transforming it digitally - and Chappie glosses over the technical difficulties rather quickly (it takes Chappie all of five minutes and a montage to accomplish it). The audience is asked to suspend disbelief to believe this robot has the mind of a person, and then within the last ten minutes of the film asked to suspend disbelief even further to believe a human mind - a very ethereal and intangible thing - can be transferred into the body of a robot.

I think it makes people a little uncomfortable to think of a human mind in the body of something that isn't human - like a perversion of nature, far different from creating a mind from the ground up to exist in a mechanical body. It brings about feelings of claustrophobia and isolation, of being trapped in something foreign. It asks too much of the audience. There have been other movies that have toyed with the idea, but the less fantastical and more rooted the reality of the film's world, the more difficult it is to grasp the prospect (Wally Pfister's Transcendence didn't connect well with audiences, whereas no one blinked at Zola in Captain America: The Winter Soldier because it was based on a comic book). Chappie, like the rest of Blomkamp's films, is heavily rooted in reality, so the leap from grounded to fantastical is rather severe.

But the more I think about it, the more appropriate it seems. I would even go so far as to suggest it might be the only inevitable ending the film could have.

The film begins as the story of how a man created a machine with the mind of a human, and ends with a robot creating a human with the body of a machine (I leave it to you to ponder whether or not they're the same thing). When you think of it in comparable terms, it suddenly doesn't sound as far fetched. The film makes the point (as does every science fiction film involving robots) that artificial intelligence would no doubt develop in leaps and bounds just because of the computing power machines are capable of. Deon even says while describing the program he's developed for artificial intelligence that whatever mind is created as a result will be vastly smarter than any human in history and will be capable of learning and retaining information at an exponential rate. By the simple nature of robotics, it therefore makes sense that although it took mankind an unfathomably long time to evolve to the point of being capable of replicating the mind digitally, it would only take a robotic mind that has access to all the information in the world hours to accomplish the same feat in reverse. 

And that is what I believe the true point of the film is. It's not a story about a robot that gains consciousness, but rather the story of the end of humanity. Deon is the result of millions of years of human evolution who creates a robotic human mind thanks to the communal intelligence, research, and innovation of the entire human race and scientific community that came before him (because science doesn't occur in a vacuum, it's built on the foundation of the accomplishments of everyone that existed prior). Chappie, the infinitely intelligent result of this impossible accomplishment, achieves the next "impossible" feat - transferring human consciousness into a robotic body - within a few days of his inception. Chappie then uses his breakthrough to save Deon's life by removing his maker's mortal flesh and replacing it with immortal metal. In essence, Chappie removes the fear of death from Deon by making his human body obsolete, thereby removing part of his humanity; he also goes about using the "backup" of Yolandi's consciousness to effectively raise her from the dead as well. Chappie has ushered in a world where death doesn't exist, and thus has changed the very essence of what it means to be human and the course of human history. 

It's a wide open ending, and Blomkamp has said he created the film as a potential first chapter in its own trilogy, so I can only imagine where its sequels might go. While the attempt to create a robot version of Yolandi may seem a tad much, I personally think it's a great addition to the finale on top of Deon's own transformation. Whereas Deon is saved in the nick of time, Yolandi is clearly dead. Her consciousness is merely a "backup" copy. It raises the question of whether the robotic Deon has his literal human mind or whether it's simply a copy as well. 

These are questions that don't necessarily have answers, and I believe most people will be taken aback by Chappie's ending because it throws these subconsciously existential questions at the audience in rapid-fire succession right after the climax of the film. I think it's going to end up being one of those endings that most people don't like but can't explain why, because it hits them on an almost primal level, questioning the very nature of identity.

There are plenty of philosophers that have questioned the nature of human existence, pondering what we as a species are truly meant for. Are we a disease that is meant to consume the planet and endlessly destroy itself, or are we simply an organism undergoing an awkward transitional phase before we collectively evolve into another form of being, such as robotic organisms that have shaken off the mortal coil of flesh and bone? Will we ultimately escape death, and if so, what will the cost of that be to our humanity? Is there really such a thing as a "soul" or is it simply a word meant to encapsulate all of the mysteries of the human consciousness that we haven't been able to quantify and solve? 

Chappie makes us question all of this, and the fact that I'm still thinking about suggests that I must have really enjoyed it as a film. It's interesting to think that humanity will end not with a nuclear bomb or some horrible disease or terrible world war, but rather with a simple keystroke.

Wednesday, 25 February 2015

The Root of Victim Blaming

Why does victim blaming exist? It's as rampant as ever, but when you stop and think about it, it's hopelessly illogical. And yet it swirls around the murky comment sections of almost every online debate regarding sexual harassment or rape.  

For those unfamiliar with the term, "victim blaming" is exactly what it sounds like - blaming the victim in any instance of a crime or violation. "If you didn't want to get mugged, you shouldn't have walked down that alley" is a good example. Currently, the term is almost synonymous with instances of rape and sexual assault. "She was asking for it wearing that skirt" or "if she didn't want to have sex she shouldn't have been so flirty" are tame versions of some of the comments you might hear when such cases crop up, with the worst going so far as something like "she secretly wanted it because everyone knows she's a slut."

All of these are horrible, but why do they exist? What constructive purpose does victim blaming serve? Are there really so many awful people willing to condemn someone who has just undergone something traumatic? Personally I don't think so, so I would like to propose a possible explanation that is far less nefarious.

I believe it's simple. I think it all boils down to fear.

I think people are scared. I think people are afraid to admit that something like rape happens on a horrifyingly regular basis, because admitting it would be admitting that the world by extension can be a rather horrible and scary place. That's something a lot of people frankly aren't ready to accept just yet (if ever) because it would be admitting that they themselves might not be safe.

There's a wonderful speech at the end of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (correct me if I'm wrong on this, I sometimes get the movies confused) where Dumbledore is talking to Harry in his dorm room just after a climactic battle with Voldemort. Dumbledore says to Harry, "There will soon come a time where people will have to decide between what is right . . . and what is easy." In the case of victim blaming in rape cases, what is right is admitting that sometimes terrible things happen to good people and that the world isn't always safe, especially if you're a girl; what is easy is to deny that the world can be terrible and scary by denying such things happen, and the easiest way to deny an accusation is to discredit the accuser.

When I was in elementary school, we had a presentation about the dangers of drunk driving. We watched a video that had interviews with a woman who had been hit by a drunk driver. The resulting accident trapped her in her car, which caught fire. At the risk of sounding insensitive, the physical damage as a result of her burns was horrifying. It left me deeply disturbed, and my mind's initial reaction was to say that such things weren't possible. I tried to convince myself it was all a show, that it was all makeup and special effects for the sake of making a very effective PSA, but that was just my mind playing mental gymnastics for one purpose: I didn't want to admit that something so horrible could happen to someone.

It goes beyond simply admitting that bad things happen, unfortunately, especially when further implications arise. The startlingly high statistics of rape and harassment towards women are symptoms of a predominantly patriarchal society with misogynistic tendencies, but a lot of people are very comfortable with current society, and would therefore fear anything that threatens established norms (one only needs to look at the GamerGate incident to see this in microcosm). Admitting that things are bad also means admitting that things should change, which I would say the majority of people are very adverse to, especially if it requires any degree of work on their part. The easy solution therefore becomes to deny such problems exist, and by extension, deny any evidence of a problem. 

As Dumbledore indicates to young Harry, it's easier for people to deny that evil exists (exemplified by the fact that Voldemort for the first half of the series is referred to as "He Who Must Not Be Named") because admitting it also means recognition that it must be subsequently fought, which is a frightening prospect. Likewise, it is especially difficult to admit that celebrities or people in positions of power are guilty of crimes (be it sexual assault or otherwise) because it means acknowledging that a figure that some might have idolized was not the beacon of light once thought. It was easier to deny Bill Cosby was a rapist (until the evidence became too overwhelming) because otherwise we would be destroying a fixture of American pop culture that many people grew up with, in the same way it's difficult to admit that John Lennon was an abusive man because it would taint the legacy of his music.      

We build mental templates for ourselves to make us feel safe, and these templates have very rigid specifications that must be met before many of us are willing to recognize something for what it is. We have an idea of what an abusive relationship is so that if the one we're in becomes abusive or unhealthy, we can compare it to our template and say "it might not be great, but at least it's not that." We do the same for words. The word "rape" conjures up so many negative things - feelings of betrayal, violence, devastation, trauma - that unless something fits with the exact criteria we design in our heads, we just deny it. Most people think of rape as something that happens in a dark alley at knife-point, not something that happens in a dorm room after a girl has drank too much to properly say "no." People don't want to admit that something that we associate such horrible things with could happen easily and often. Even worse, no one wants to think that they could be a criminal, and so the boy in the dorm room makes excuses, saying "she wanted it" or "why would she drink so much if she didn't know what could happen?" because the fear of admitting they are a rapist is too terrifying.   

And so this fear manifests as denial. We find excuses so we don't have to admit that the university we went to has a sexual harassment problem; we make excuses so we don't have to admit a high school football star is actually a criminal; we make excuses so we don't have to admit a celebrity who was a big part of our childhood was secretly a monster.

It's easier to discredit the victim, because at the end of the day, everyone is more afraid for themselves.

Thursday, 12 February 2015

Advocacy and Anger: A Dangerous Mix

Social media is a wonderful tool for anyone with a cause to preach; no longer is someone striving for social justice relegated to an underground forum, doing their best to raise awareness through demonstrations, marches, or whatever else people did in the fifties. The world is instantly accessible, and the Internet has become one of the best tools for any advocate or social justice warrior.

There is, however, a big obstacle that advocacy soldiers need to overcome: anger.

Their own, to be precise.

I was lightly involved in advocacy work back in my more youthful days, mostly as just a volunteer. Most of my work centered around feminist campaigns, and overall it was a very eye-opening experience that I'm glad I was a part of. That's not to say it was all smiles and sunshine, however, and to say there were clashes with some of the people I was involved with would be a massive understatement (which is why I tend not to be very involved these days).

Those "clashes" tended to crop up around the more elitist of advocates that I encountered, the sort of people who would condemn me for having a private discussion with friends in which an off-color joke was uttered. Frankly, it became too off-putting to deal with. I was all for helping a cause, but when the people I was involved with started playing Thought Police to my personal Facebook page, that's when it transformed from passionate cause to stressful burden. I was fully supportive of the ideals and notions these people were advocating, but it was the people themselves that grew too difficult to deal with. And since most of the work I was involved with revolved around feminism (which is becoming quite the buzzword these days) we might as well start there.

Feminism is such a basic and primordial idea that it's even bizarre to think we live in a world where we still have to campaign for it. Feminism is simply the idea that women should be treated as equally as men in all matters of life. That's it. Ask almost anyone if they believe in this and they'll agree, but ask if they're a feminist, and good luck keeping track of the responses you get. "Feminism" is still a bit of a dirty word, and is full of negative associations (like "angry feminist" or "femi-Nazis"). But why did these associates crop up in the first place?

Well, the first thing I think we need to understand is that feminists are people too, and the thing about people is that they can be very angry and egocentric. And on the other side of the fence, people often correlate unrelated things and make unwarranted associations, which is why encountering one angry advocate could turn you off their cause, even if their cause is still a valid and worthy one.

Let me explain it better with a story . . .

Many, many months ago, I was pursuing online dating. During that time I began speaking with someone whom we'll call "Girl-X" for the sake of this article. Girl-X was a very outspoken feminist, and she was excited when I told her that I had dabbled in a bit of advocacy work in years past. We talked for a little while, and it became obvious that she was very emboldened and passionate, which I respected. Then she shared something which threw up many red flags. 

You see, Girl-X was also very angry (which anyone who's dealt with misogyny has every right to be) and she'd also encountered a guy online who self-identified as a "women-hater." Girl-X concocted a plan to create a fake online profile, get close to this man, learn his identity and his secrets, then expose him. She shared this information with me because she wanted to be honest with me, and then asked if I thought she was crazy. This is when I had to have a very real talk with her . . .

I told her that because of my experience with advocacy, I understood that she was just angry. Unequal pay, cat calls, sexual objectification - these are things women have to deal with regularly, and so her anger was justified. She wanted someone to pay, and this guy seemed like a ripe target. She thought she would be doing the world a favour by outing him. That's perfectly understandable . . . to someone like me who has experience with her cause. But to anyone else who isn't familiar, like say, the general population, it would come across as certifiably bat-shit insane. I convinced her to stop with her elaborate plan based on one irrefutable fact:

Anger solves nothing. And in the case of advocacy, it hurts it.

To me, she was just an angry girl. To someone else, she might be a "crazy feminist" and therefore justification to ignore the entire cause. There's a very important rule when it comes to advocacy that I think some advocates ignore: advocacy supports an idea, usually in an attempt to fix a problem . . . but the average person doesn't realize there's even a problem in the first place (or in the worst cases, don't want to admit there's a problem). Feminism is particularly hard fought because unless you've dealt with misogyny first hand, you're probably not going to believe it's an issue worth fighting over, and because most men never have to deal with it, that means that female feminists have to convince the very people responsible for the problem that there is one. This certainly explains why there's such opposition to feminist crusaders (take a look at what happened to poor Anita Sarkeesian) because no one wants to believe that they're secretly responsible for having done something bad.

It thus becomes a heavy burden for advocates because they have to not only attempt to fix a problem, but they need to justify and explain why there's a need to fix it in the first place. The only way you can do this is through education, but when you're so angry at having suffered under a problem (patriarchy, misogyny . . . take your pick) then patience and understanding can go out the window, and suddenly you're just this person that to the general population is attempting to fix a problem no one knew existed.

A perfect analogy is bullying. If you go to a high school and ask someone from a popular crowd if bullying is a problem at their school, they'll probably say no because they've never experienced it personally; it's not a part of their life and therefore they have no reason to believe it's an issue. But if you ask someone who gets the shit beaten out of them daily, the answer will be much different. If you show evidence to the popular person that there's indeed someone getting bullied and thus it is in fact a problem, then you've properly educated them. If, however, you simply run up to them and start saying they need to fix a problem that they don't know exists, you're going to get a lukewarm response. And if you get angry when they fail to accept your campaign because of their ignorance, you've effectively scared them away forever.

You could also say the same about racism. A white person isn't going to have much experience dealing with that sort of prejudice, so if an advocate starts condemning them and preaching about white privilege, then nothing gets solved, and all that's been accomplished is you've deterred a potential supporter away from your cause.

It can be difficult to accept that change is a slow process and that people are often resistant to it. We're a culture obsessed with quick fixes, so our instinct is to push and pull and scream until we accomplish something or get our way; we did it when we were kids, and it's a go-to tactic when we're angry and frustrated. In the grand scheme, however, this only sets us back as a society. It's easy to make associations where they shouldn't be, so if the most vocal member of a cause or movement comes across as angry or furious, then the bridge to the average person just got a whole lot scarier for them to cross.

It's a shitty situation, make no doubt about it. It puts all the pressure for change on the shoulders of victims and people that have suffered enough; you're telling someone seeking justice that they need to be patient and understanding with people who are ignorant and blissfully unaware of the injustices they've faced.

So to all those passionate advocates out there, I implore you to keep your hearts open and accept that fear and ignorance don't equal opposition. And to everyone else, I encourage you to keep your ears and minds open to the experiences of those who have lived a life outside of your own.

Wednesday, 7 January 2015

What I Learned About Fitness in 2014

Hello world, and Happy New Year. To the few people that know me well, it's no secret that I'm a big fan of health and fitness. This last year especially (thanks in large part to the encouragement of a close friend whom I discovered most of the things on this article through) I've tried my best to dedicate myself to exercising more and being an overall healthier person. There have been ups and downs, and I thought it would be a good idea to reflect on some of the things I've learned, not just about fitness in general, but some of the philosophies I've picked up along the way as well.

I should also say right now that I am by no means an expert on fitness, nor have I gone to school and studied to any great degree some of the things I'll be talking about. I'm just a guy with a blog who spent a long time reading up and observing things. I'll try and be as concise as possible so as not to waste too much of your day, but this article will probably be pretty long. Give me a break though; it was a long year and if you're at all interested in exercising or living a healthier life, you might learn a thing or two (the last point is kinda the most important in my opinion). And it's got headings, so feel free to skip ahead.

And so, in no particular order . . .

YOU CAN'T OUT-EXERCISE A BAD DIET

Diet is literally the most important element of healthy living. I went from a diet consisting mainly of pizza, hamburgers, chicken strips, chips, soda and chocolate to one that was rich in whole grains, fruits and vegetables, low-fat diary, healthy fats, and lean protein. The results were astounding. My energy skyrocketed and my appearance changed quite drastically in a short amount of time. While the biological process is far more complicated than I'm probably making it seem, diet accounts for anywhere between 60-80% of your fitness goals and has a profound impact on your health. You could exercise hours everyday with a shitty diet with no results, while otherwise get great results with a good diet and only a few hours of exercise a week. 

Remember, a healthy meal shouldn't be the exception to your day (i.e. "At least I had a salad for lunch!") but the other way around. Eating an apple doesn't cancel out several candy bars.

HAVING SAID THAT, FOCUSING TOO MUCH ON DIET CAN RUIN YOUR LIFE

I have a very obsessive personality, and when I launch myself into something, I usually do it with as much zeal and effort as I'm able to dedicate. Unfortunately, it's more than possible to take something such as a desire to be healthy and have it transition into a very unhealthy frame of mind. I became obsessive about counting calories and macro-nutrient ratios (the percentage of protein, carbohydrates, and fats you consume daily) and overly critical about how I looked, feeling guilty if I had something like pizza or chocolate. I'm not near as bad as I once was, but it's still something I deal with from time to time.

WHAT YOU SEE IN MAGAZINES/MOVIES AREN'T HOW THINGS WORK IN REAL LIFE

Much like how porn has warped the minds of young men into believing sex operates a certain way, movies and magazines often portray fitness in such an incorrect fashion too. Looking as good as models and actors requires months and months of dedication and discipline. It requires sleeping 8-10 hours a night, consuming dangerously excessive and then dangerously limited amounts of food, and six intense days a week in the gym (with one day for rest). Before a photo shoot or a shirtless scene, models/actors will often dehydrate themselves to lose water weight, plus lighting and camera positioning plays a huge role too. Those instances are often built up to; actors rarely maintain such a level of "shreddedness" for an entire film shoot, and they especially don't maintain that level of fitness once shooting is over. That lifestyle is simply too demanding, and it's especially daunting to even try and attempt when you're working a 9-5 office job.  

IT'S NOT ABOUT BUILDING MUSCLE, IT'S ABOUT LOSING BODY FAT

I, like many others, used to think that the key to a six-pack of abs was an unprecedented number of crunches and situps. My mind was therefore blown when I found out that not only do those two exercises suck for bringing out the ab muscles, but you can get a perfectly decent flat stomach without doing any ab exercises whatsoever. What matters is dropping your body fat to the point that all of your muscles become visible and highly defined (which is most easily achieved through diet). It's an illusion that the fitness industry has capitalized on for decades. Case in point, Brad Pitt - who's body in the film Fight Club was considered the epitome of male fitness for a long time - only weighed around 155 pounds during that film (he's six feet tall). You'll hear it everywhere, but it's true: abs are made in the kitchen.
 
YOU HAVE TO PRETTY MUCH EAT DRYWALL TO GET SUPER TRIM 

The "drywall" bit is a joke Ryan Reynolds made about what he had to eat to get into shape for Blade: Trinity, but anyone who's followed that kind of diet would have to agree. In order to drop body fat you pretty much have to stick to the leanest of proteins and the most nutrient dense of vegetables, which is why chicken and broccoli are such staples of fitness diets.

PEOPLE HAVE A STRANGE DISASSOCIATION FROM THEIR BODY

Sometimes I feel that the majority of people think of their body as some physical entity completely disassociated from their brain, like their mind is a driver and their body a car, and that if the car gets rundown the brain will still be fine. Unfortunately this isn't the case, as the mind and body are BOTH the car, and as one gets rundown so does the other. There's no way to separate the two. Your body is the vessel by which you live, and if you don't keep it in good health, your quality of life will suffer.
 
IT'S AMAZING WHAT YOU CAN TRAIN YOUR BODY TO DO

The human body is a highly adaptive organism, and it's incredibly efficient at learning and adapting to new movements. The nervous system plays just as much a part in weight training as do muscles. It's often the initial hurdle of becoming familiar with new movements that sets most people back, but as many motivational posters claim, your mind will often quit before your bodies does.

COMPOUND BEFORE ISOLATION EXERCISES & BODY BALANCE

This is more actual training related, but an awful lot of people walk nervously into a gym not entirely sure what exercises they should be performing, and immediately start either bench pressing or doing bicep curls because those are the only exercises they're familiar with. It's important when beginning to exercise (honestly, for the first several years) to focus on big, compound exercises that make you use several muscles at once, instead of worrying about doing isolation exercises like bicep curls that only target one muscle. It's also important to make sure you have proper posture and execute everything with good form, otherwise you're setting yourself up for a nasty injury, and for the love of Christ, never try to lift more weight than you can do comfortably. If you want to see what overreaching and bad posture delivers, go to YouTube and check out any number of "CrossFit Fails" compilations.

The best exercises to focus on are things such as bench-presses, deadlifts, squats, pull-ups, dips, shoulder presses, and anything else that requires natural movement and that works more than one muscle group. Unless you're a bodybuilder, there's no reason to try and follow a bodybuilding style training routine. And it's also important to make sure you're balancing your body properly. If all you do is bench press without worrying about working the opposing muscles groups (in this case the back, which is targeted through movements like rows and pull-ups) you're on a one way trip to muscle imbalance, which isn't pleasant. 
   
CARDIO SUCKS FOR FAT LOSS

That's not to say it's not an important part of an exercise regime, but if you're spending hours on the treadmill or elliptical hoping to burn calories, think again. While it might be great for improving your cardiovascular fitness, it won't put much of a dent (like, at all) in your daily caloric consumption. Studies show lifting weights is actually more effective for weight loss with strict cardio a distant second. If you want to lose weight, you NEED to reign in your diet. There's just no other way.

THE BODY ISN'T A JIGSAW PUZZLE

Having said that, it's also important to realize that the body isn't broken down into separate entities such as when you divide your routine into "cardio" and "strength training." The body functions as a whole, and while it's possible to work different processes through certain methods, ultimately everything works as a cohesive unit.

PEOPLE WANT A QUICK FIX 

I used to think that one hour of exercise three days a week was enough to offset whatever poor lifestyle choices I was making, and I realize now that was a very unhealthy notion (in the same way I used to think an hour of yoga a week was enough to fix seven day's worth of bad posture). Similarly, I have a coworker I overheard talking about how they have a very bad back and wanted to pursue surgery, but was furious when their doctor suggested exercising first; my coworker didn't want to think that something that would require that much effort and discipline on their part was the solution to their problem - they wanted the "magic pill" solution.

We've become obsessed with the idea that there's a singular cure for whatever ailment we have. A healthy lifestyle is like any other discipline - you can't do it for a day and expect to see results. It takes a lot of time and hard work to see any progress. 

EXERCISE AND PROPER DIET ARE THE MEDICATION NO ONE WANTS TO TAKE

I understand that not everyone enjoys exercising like I do, and I certainly understand that not everyone wants to adjust their diet either. That shit's hard, plain and simple. Unfortunately, being healthy isn't like other hobbies or skills that we can choose to indulge in based on whether we enjoy them or not; our bodies all operate on the same biological processes, and being healthy is literally capable of curing a good percentage of lifestyle-related diseases (of which heart disease, cardiac problems, and a good chunk of cancers fall under). It's a cure that is sitting in front of everyone's face, but few people want to pick up. If there existed a pill with all the benefits of exercise with none of the hard work, it would be the best selling product in all of human history.

REST IS JUST AS IMPORTANT AS DIET AND EXERCISE 

I've made the mistake of assuming the key to fitness was strictly exercise, but it's actually a holy trinity of exercise, diet and rest, with each part being just as important as the other. Muscle is grown by tearing it so it may build back up, so you actually "grow" muscle when you're not exercising. Six days of hard exercise a week is probably going to keep you from reaching optimal results unless you're eating a dump truck worth of clean food a day to compensate, or at the very least being smart about how you structure your routine. 

EVERYONE NEEDS TO GET MORE SLEEP 

I truly underestimated the degree to which rest plays in living a healthy lifestyle, and from the looks of a small Facebook poll I took, so does everyone else. I'm lucky if I sleep more than six hours a night, even though it's recommended that everyone should get at least 7-8 on average (more if you exercise vigorously). Hormones released during sleep contribute to everything from stress management to weight loss to muscle growth, and yet I think because it's something free that most people enjoy, it's therefore viewed as an indulgence instead of a necessary element of healthy living. 

FITNESS ISN'T ALL ABOUT MUSCLE 

There are some fun videos on YouTube showing what happens when professional bodybuilders try rock climbing for the first time and are easily beaten by someone half their size with a third of the muscle. Having big muscles won't help you at all if you aren't performing functional training; if someone steals your wallet and runs off, it won't matter how much you bench-pressed the night before if you can't run thirty seconds without being out of breath. Overall fitness is broken down equally between muscular endurance, flexibility, cardiovascular processes (how well your body utilizes oxygen) and body composition (how much fat to muscle you have).
 
WEIGHT LOSS IS A FINICKY THING     

Weight loss is predominantly related to one's diet, but the details are freakin' hard to nail down. Everyone's body is different, and while there are tons of "calorie calculators" online, finding out what works best for you is going to take a lot of trial and error. Eat too much and you'll be gaining more fat than muscle; eat too little and your body will enter starvation mode and you'll actually gain weight. You can also fluctuate up to ten pounds in a single day based on water-weight alone, so don't rely on fitness magazines and the bathroom scale to tell you how much progress you're making.
 
SUGAR ADDICTION AND OBESITY ARE WORSE THAN PEOPLE REALIZE

I've always considered myself an extremely disciplined person, and I always thought the threat of obesity was just a matter of people being too lazy . . . until I tried cutting out all processed sugar from my diet. To say it was challenging is an understatement. I still get cravings and have to fight off the desire for sugar (especially chocolate). Studies show the body reacts similarly to sugar in the way it also reacts to hard drugs, and if I had such a hard time breaking it off then I fear for everyone else, because it's in fucking EVERYTHING.

SERIOUSLY, SUGAR IS THE FUCKING DEVIL

The documentary Fed Up is a great film that I highly recommend because it takes a very no-nonsense approach to obesity and the effects of sugar, and if it's good enough to get Kevin Smith to change his diet, it's good enough for everyone else. To sum up the science, the body can only process about six grams of sugar at a time, and eating more will trigger an insulin response in your body that automatically starts converting food to fat. This provides a double whammy because all the nutrients get stored as fat instead of filling you up and giving you energy, so not only are you still hungry, you feel sluggish as well. Therefore, it doesn't matter how few calories you eat; if what you're eating is still high in sugar, you're still converting a lot of what you eat to fat.

Also, take a look at any nutrient label. Notice how sugar is the only item that doesn't list its "Daily %" value. That's because sugar corporations (I hate using the vague term "corporations" but what else do you call them in this situation) lobbied to have that removed, otherwise a can of Coca Cola would say something along the lines of 110% on the label.  

A CALORIE ISN'T ALWAYS A CALORIE

This is an old school notion that assumed if you burned more calories than you consumed, you'd lose weight. But because the body isn't a calculator and sugar is a nefarious bastard, science has shown that isn't the case. 200 calories of chocolate and 200 calories of vegetables are not going to have the same nutritional effect on your body. 

EVEN IF SOMETHING IS HEALTHY, IT'S STILL POSSIBLE TO GET FAT OFF IT

Almonds are healthy, and there have been some studies that show health benefits to dark chocolate, and yes, even a glass of wine now and then is good, but holy shit, that's not an excuse to shove it down your throat like it's the antidote to a six pack. Almonds and dark chocolate are still high in fat, and any chocolate is still filled with sugar (some types more than others, obviously). Even fruits when eaten in large quantities can be high calorie. Really, vegetables are one of the few types of food that you can pretty much eat with abandon without ever having to worry about their calorie count.

MISLEADING MARKETING IS GOING TO KILL THE MISINFORMED

Fuck fruit juice, and fuck any other thing that claims to be "Gluten Free." There are a lot of old misconceptions about food that marketers capitalize on, and because the majority of the population isn't as informed about nutritional science, the fallout can be rather severe. People may assume the juice from 100% juice is healthy, but without the fiber of the actual fruit to accompany the natural sugars, drinking juice is almost as bad as soda. As for gluten, if you're not actually allergic to it, there's no need to treat it like the devil's food. And don't trust Doctor Oz for your nutritional advice either - the guy was just called out in court because half his claims were proven to be bullshit. I went to a Whole Foods the other day and was really disappointed by how a lot of unhealthy foods were disguised as healthy with overblown prices. 

A LOT OF TRAINING MENTALITIES ARE ANTIQUATED 

There are a lot of guidelines in the fitness world based on old schools of thought that recent studies have proven to be false, or at the very least, not as concrete as once believed. Protein is a great example. Lots of bodybuilders and fitness enthusiasts still cling to the notion that in order to get big you need to be eating 1-2 grams of protein per pound of body weight a day, but recent studies show that the body can really only utilize 0.8 grams per day towards building muscle. The same thing goes for ideas such as you need to eat several small meals a day to keep your metabolism going (it really doesn't make much of a difference) and you should eat something protein heavy within an hour of working out (while it's good to eat something, the "window" for protein synthesis lasts anywhere from 24-48 hours; your body isn't a clock).

A large number of these notions are based on practices that - because they were part of certain successful routines - were just naturally assumed to be right. It's not to say they're all bad (I still follow certain guidelines myself) but there's really not as many magical formulas as people think. 

PEOPLE CAN BE VERY MISINFORMED ABOUT HOW THE BODY WORKS 

The uprising of fad diets and juice cleanses is very frightening, as is the number of people who read a single article about health and proclaim its content as fact. "Cleanses" are a waste of time because the body is designed to cleanse itself; drinking nothing but juice is only going to make you sluggish and piss yourself silly. The same goes for the demonizing of carbohydrates. There are lots of articles claiming low-carb diets are the secret to weight loss, but it's not limiting the carbs themselves that make you lose weight but the lack of calories you're eating from omitting carbs from your diet. I remember screaming at a weight-loss magazine awhile ago over a similar claim about how you can lose tons of weight drinking only lemon juice a day because they were praising the weight-loss effects of lemon juice instead of acknowledging the weight loss came from not eating anything else.

EVERYONE THINKS THEY'RE AN EXPERT

If you really want to lose your faith in humanity, check out any online fitness forum and count how many insults get hurled at people because their "program" is wrong. This is more just a negative personality trait that many people have, assuming they're an expert on something because of their own personal experience instead of acknowledging that there are many successful practices (and yes, I realize the irony of that statement considering what I've written thus far in this article) and everyone's body responds differently. For added fun, check out how many people claim the cast of the movie 300 were all on steroids because the commenters had been exercising for years without getting those kind of results.

YOU DON'T NEED A GYM MEMBERSHIP

I've been able to achieve a relatively decent level of fitness without having stepped foot in a commercial gym since first year university (almost ten years ago now). There are tons of YouTube channels that show you how to get in a great workout at home with almost no equipment. I myself follow a program that is largely based on calisthenics (body-weight exercises) dumbbells and yoga. If you want to build muscle, you really don't need anything more than a pull-up bar.

LIVING HEALTHY CAN BE EXPENSIVE . . . KINDA

I don't have a gym membership, so I don't have to rely on spending money for my actual workouts. As for food, being smart about what you buy can save you a ton of money in the long run. You don't need to buy everything organic, and avoid anything that's high priced with a bunch of big-print health claims on the packaging. Yes, some foods cost a bit extra, but it's not nearly as bad as you might assume. 

IT'S IMPORTANT TO LOVE YOURSELF

At the risk of coming off too narcissistic with this post, I wholeheartedly 100% agree that first and foremost it is important to love and accept your body for what it is. I went through some bad body image issues myself regardless of what people around me were saying, and my excessive compulsive nature only added to the trouble. It's much better to take the Average Joes approach from Dodgeball: you're perfect the way you are, but hey . . . if you want to take a stab at getting a bit healthier, all the power to you. If you don't want to, that's your decision.

. . . BUT ALSO BE REALISTIC 

It's one thing to be happy with who you are, but it's another to turn that around and take it too far in the other direction. I think fat shaming is a horrible thing, but to grab hold of the "it's okay to be big" movement and take it all the way to "fuck skinny people" kinda misses the point. Fitness models are just as insecure about their bodies as everyone else (one could argue more so, because their actual livelihood is dependent on it) so it doesn't help anyone to go up to a skinny person eating a slice of pizza and guilt them by saying "I wish I could eat that and still look like you" (which happens quite often, whether it's meant to be scornful or not). If you forgo eating healthy and not wanting to exercise, more power to you, but don't try to convince others that it's a superior way to live, in the same way you shouldn't shame others if they enjoy indulging in less-than-healthy alternatives.

THERE IS A GENETIC LIMIT TO HOW FIT YOU CAN REALISTICALLY GET

I didn't realize just how prominent steroid abuse was in the world of bodybuilding until I looked into it. It's sorta startling, actually, so much so that there's actually contests referred to as "Natural Bodybuilding Competitions" which means it's actually expected that you'll take steroids in your typical bodybuilding contest (but that's not to say they're all that way). The reason for this is that there's actually only so much muscle you can build naturally, depending on your genetics and your body type. Some people are just naturally gifted (like Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson) while others can achieve a pretty good body with strict dedication (such as skinny-man Adrien Brody's transformation in Predators) but there really is a limit. The average weigh in during "Natural Bodybuilding" contests is actually somewhere in the 170 pound range (and that's at a very low body fat percentage, mind) so if you're looking at someone whose abs look like paving slabs the size of your face, it's safe to assume they may be getting some assistance from steroids.

IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO BUILD MUSCLE

Following that line of thought, it actually takes a very long time to build muscle. Like, years and years. I've been exercising for well over a decade, and while I may have gained some new muscle when I fixed my diet, I also plateaued pretty fast (I'm still pretty skinny). Again, look at movie stars who literally have all the time and money in the world to get fit. Henry Cavill went from being incredibly ripped in Immortals to being still incredibly ripped but with about ten extra pounds of muscle in Man of Steel. The kicker? It took him a year to do it, training three hours in gruelingly intense sessions six days a week, eating five thousand calories per day. Brad Pitt was at his fittest in Troy, which took almost a year to train from how fit he already was. It takes a lot of time and effort, which is why you're not going to look like Stallone overnight.

There are also a lot of women who are afraid to lift weights because they fear getting bulky like some women you see in bodybuilding contests. Women possess about 1/10 the testosterone levels of men (a key ingredient of building muscle) so that woman who looks unnaturally bulky is either a genetic abnormality or getting help from steroids. So ladies, if you want to get "toned," get off the treadmill and start lifting some heavy barbells.

THE HIPPIES WERE RIGHT

A great many ailments of the modern age are a result of us moving away from nature. Our bodies adapted and evolved over hundreds of thousands of years to get used to certain functions and food. Processed food and sedentary lifestyles only developed in the last hundred years or so, and frankly, it shows. Our bodies haven't had the time to adapt to a high-sugar, high-caloric diet, just as they haven't adapted to spending most of our days sitting on our asses. For many thousands of years people exercised by climbing and moving heavy shit, not by dedicating an hour a day to bench pressing; they ate mostly fruits and vegetables and occasionally meat, not two quarter-pounders a day with a gallon of coke and a bag of chips. Honestly, the best way to get fit is to embrace the mentality that evolution forged us a certain way, and if something fits in line with evolution, it's probably good for you to do. This is why activities like sprinting, rock climbing, and gymnastics are extremely effective for getting fit, because they embrace natural movements of the body. 

WALKING IS GREAT, BUT YOU'RE GOING TO HAVE TO DO A BIT MORE 

Walking is a fantastic exercise. It gets your blood flowing, helps improve your cardiovascular system, and is a great overall functional exercise. But if that's the only thing you're doing and you're still waiting for the pounds to melt off, you're going to have to try a bit harder. Walking isn't particularly physical stressful (i.e. it won't stimulate an insane amount of muscle growth) and it doesn't burn an awful lot of calories. At best it's a supplement to a proper exercise program, but it shouldn't be the anchor by which you plan your weight loss strategy.

MARTIAL ARTS AND GYMNASTICS ARE TOTALLY BAD-ASS

Gymnastics and martial arts are probably two of the things I've gained the most respect for in the last year. I have a close friend who is heavily involved in martial arts who was a big inspiration for my fitness endeavors this past year, and learning about how intense martial arts can be was really eye-opening. The same applies to gymnastics, which many dismiss as a "sissy sport" when in fact you'll probably find some of the fittest athletes in the world partaking in such activities. It's one of the reasons I've taken such a huge interest in calisthenics. For anyone who doesn't think you can get strong doing body weight exercises, I challenge you to try your hand at ring dips, one-arm push-ups/pull-ups, headstand push-ups, single-leg squats, dragonflies, or the human flag.

That shit is downright inspiring.

IT'S AMAZING HOW MANY PEOPLE SAY "I CAN'T" WHEN THEY SHOULD REALLY BE SAYING "I DON'T WANT TO" 

This is probably one of the most important psychological lessons I've learned about people in general this past year. Everyone wants to be fit; everyone knows they should exercise (every doctor  in the world wouldn't recommend it if it wasn't an essential part of living a long and healthy life) and yet an awful lot of people will seek out excuses not to. I can understand not enjoying exercise, but I am also intimately aware of the mental gymnastics people often do to convince themselves that something is beyond their control. I have many friends and family who cannot understand my vigorous enthusiasm for exercise, and that's fine. I know I'm a bit more hardcore than I should be, but I enjoy it, and I recognize not everyone does. What kills me, however, is when I hear people say "I want/wish I could do that too, but I can't because . . ." and then follow it up with a very poor excuse, such as not having time or not having a gym membership.

I think it's important to be honest with yourself. If you're unable to replace "I can't" with "I'm physically incapable because . . ." then you're probably just making an excuse, and that's fine, but at least admit it. If you tell yourself that you can't exercise because you don't have the time, genuinely sit down and look at your schedule. If you're spending two hours a night watching reality TV, then it's not a matter of "You can't" but rather "You don't want to."

Exercise isn't easy. It's not suppose to be. It's supposed to hurt, because if you're not sore than you're not challenging your body enough to stimulate growth. People hate being put outside their comfort zone. It's going to be a challenge, especially if you're new to exercise - your body is finally moving in ways it hasn't been forced to move in years (if not decades). Your joints and muscles are probably going to be sore in the beginning (although please note there's a difference between "sore" and "painful" - I'm not encouraging people to hurt themselves) but the body is incredibly adaptive if you give it enough credit and patience. It's one thing to not want to squat because you have a previous injury and are physically incapable, but it's another to tell yourself you have bad knees and just can't do it (especially since after that initial hurdle of getting used to the movement, most exercises are extremely beneficial for your joints). Just be honest with yourself; do as much or as little as you want, and if you don't want to do anything at all, that's fine too, but acknowledge that it's a personal choice you're making and not something dependent on anyone else.

And that's it, folks. That's probably my longest article by far, but what can I say - it was a hell of a year.

Tuesday, 16 December 2014

Feeling Stronger: A Love Letter to the Rocky Franchise

I've said it before and I'll say it again: I fucking love the Rocky series. It's as close to a guilty pleasure franchise as I can get, and it's stood the test of time for a reason. I will be the first to admit that I suck at sports. Well, not necessarily suck . . . I definitely have an athletic build and I love to exercise, and I imagine if I put in the proper time and effort I wouldn't be half bad. No, I really hate the competitive nature of team sports. Maybe it stems from my lack of trust in group projects during high school - being exploited because I was usually the only one who actually cared about making sure things got done - or maybe it has to do with being an introvert, or maybe because I don't like feeling the pressure of anyone's expectations outweighing my own.

I do, however, appreciate sports that serve as competitions between two people, which in most cases translates to two athletes beating the fuck out of each other, like in boxing or martial arts. It's less the actual beating that I appreciate though, and more the personal discipline required to train oneself to being in peak condition, relying on nothing but your own skill and being 100% accountable for your actions. If you slack off during training, you're going to lose. Your success is all about how much you're willing to put in.

And that's what I like most about the Rocky franchise.

It centers around the sport of boxing, but the actual story is about a man trying to be the best version of himself, overcoming odds, facing adversity, and all that other heartwarming stuff. You could switch out the boxing for any other sport and it would still work just fine. And Rocky is also one of the very few franchises where another entry a decade or two later didn't feel unnecessary (Stallone seems to have tapped into some miraculous secret, given that he pulled off the same feat with Rambo). In fact, my first foray into the series was Rocky Balboa, the final installment, and I was so impressed with it that I watched the rest and found merit and charm in each one. The series has been quoted and parodied more than any other over the years, and it has earned its place in pop culture history.

If you'll indulge me, I'd like to get my fan-boy on and jerk off this beloved franchise in chronological order.

Rocky (1976) - Written by Sylvester Stallone and directed by John G. Avildsen, you don't need me to tell you why it's great. The underdog boxer Rocky (Stallone) gets a once-in-a-lifetime chance to fight the heavyweight champion of the world, Apollo Creed (Carl Weathers) under the tutelage of his cranky old coach/manager, Mickey (Burgess Meredith). He ultimately loses the fight, but wins the love of his life, Adrian (Talia Shire), and proves you don't need fame and fortune if you have heart. And who could forget his cranky best friend Paulie (Burt Young), Adrian's brother.

This film is just such a good drama, and it holds up remarkably well today. It's a true love story, and although there are certain parts that would definitely come off a bit rapey today (such as when Rocky is trying to convince Adrian to come up to his apartment) I can't help but get the deep feels at the end when Rocky loses the fight but keeps screaming Adrian's name in the ring, and she finally says "I love you."

Rocky II (1979) - Stallone stepped into the director's chair on this one, and it plays directly off the first, with the opening scene literally being the same final fight from the first film. Rocky has lost, but still becomes an overnight celebrity. He and Adrian are getting married and have a baby on the way, but they soon find that Rocky's qualifications for work don't extend much beyond the sport of boxing. Apollo Creed, meanwhile, is bombarded by accusations that he lost the fight with Rocky to the point that he demands a rematch. Rocky reluctantly accepts, but Adrian doesn't want him to, and the two grow distant. Rocky's training suffers, and all seems lost when Adrian slips into a coma due to complications during childbirth.

But wait! All hope is not lost! Adrian recovers and encourages Rocky to fight. Following a second spectacular training montage, Rocky goes on to narrowly win against Creed! Not only has he achieved his dream of a family, but now he's the heavyweight champion of the world! What could possibly go wrong for Rocky now?

Rocky III (1982) - Quite a lot, it turns out. Whereas Rocky II came off as a direct followup to the first film (you could literally watch them back-to-back as one feature if you felt so inclined) the third installment is more of a character study on how a person re-discovers who they are. Rocky has become complacent with his title as heavyweight champion and ends up losing to a young and brutal upstart, Clubber Lang (Mr. T). Mickey dies of a heart attack, and Rocky is lost until his old rival, Apollo Creed, steps forward to train him. Going back to his roots and with a stern motivational talk from Adrian, Rocky regains his confidence and beats the shit out of Clubber to regain his title.

Stallone returned as both writer and director, and this is when the series started to emerge as pop culture jail bait. There's a lot of absurd stuff that you can't help but love; Mr. T. as the rival, the extremely flamboyant aspects of the training montage, the unapologetic use of Survivor's "Eye of the Tiger," and the final fade away to the painting of Rocky and Apollo having a friendly fight are all the makings of pop culture gold. As a side note, the film's plot syncs up perfectly with Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight Rises. Some might say that's a knock against Nolan, but I call it unbridled awesome.

Rocky IV (1985) - If the third installment was flirting with the absurd, the fourth was French kissing it with gusto. Much like the third, however, the more it dips into the outrageous, the more memorable it becomes. We're in full on eighties mode here, with all the clothes, music, and political baggage that entails (there's a freakin' robot for Christ's sake). Rocky is the retired champ, content with hanging up his gloves. Apollo Creed, meanwhile, isn't ready to get out of the game just yet. Word reaches him that Russian man-hulk Ivan Drago (Dolph Lundgren) is on his way to America to challenge the reigning champ. Apollo convinces Rocky to let him take on the superhuman Russian instead, and in a tragic turn of events, Apollo is killed in the ring. Against the wishes of his wife and common sense, Rocky travels to Russia with Paulie to avenge his fallen friend. Following what is hands-down THE SINGLE GREATEST TRAINING MONTAGE OF ALL TIME, Adrian finally comes to her husband's side, Rocky wins over the Russian people, beats Drago, and practically ends the Cold War.

This is the first film that definitely had some political messaging behind it (although the third dipped its feet into issues of race). The Cold War era tension seeps out of every inch of the film's reel, with Rocky's training juxtaposed with Drago's; the Russian is trained in a high-tech facility and given steroids, whereas Rocky goes at it all grit and heart, jogging in the frigid snow, chopping wood, and hauling rocks. I'm sure there was someone in the original audience who was shaking their head and thinking "What the fuck happened to the underdog from Philly?" but as most things that came out of the eighties, time and public opinion has been kind to this film in context.

Rocky V (1990) - Original director Avildsen returned for this one (again penned by Stallone) to ground the series back to its roots. The plane of the absurd is slapped by the almighty hand of God and falls into a tailspin in the first few minutes; the beginning is actually rather poignant. Seconds after defeating Drago, Rocky is in his change room, panicking with Adrian after having suffered severe brain damage from all the repeated hits from the super Russian. They return to America only to find that Paulie had unknowingly provided power of attorney to an unscrupulous lawyer, thereby losing all their money. Humbled and defeated, the Balboa clan return to Philadelphia where Rocky takes up training a new upstart, Tommy Gun (Tommy Morrison) while avoiding the taunts of boxing marketer George Duke (Richard Gant) all the while contending with his rebellious son (played by Stallone's real life son, Sage) who doesn't care for the relationship between Rocky and Tommy.

Tommy rises to the top and is co-opted by Duke, however, abandoning Rocky and everything he was taught about fighting with heart. Tired of living in his former mentor's shadow after winning the heavyweight title, Tommy challenges Rocky at Duke's behest, only to be savagely brutalized in an epic street brawl with the aging champ. It was less about following your dreams and more about rolling with the punches life throws at you, but I particularly liked this entry because it really brought Adrian's character full circle. She was timid and fragile at the beginning of the series, but ends up being the foundation of the Balboa family by the end, replacing Mickey as the one encouraging Rocky and telling him his greatest asset has always been his courage and his heart. It's actually quite touching to see her evolution as a character.

Also, the flashbacks of Mickey during the final street fight screaming "Get up, ya son-of-a-bitch! I didn't hear no bell!" are classic.

Rocky Balboa (2006) - The final entry in the series, over a decade after the fifth. This film achieved the impossible by not ruining the franchise in the eyes of the public. It stands on par with the original, in fact, and it helped that Stallone returned as both writer/director along with as much of the old cast/crew as he could find. It worked because the reason for making this final entry syncs up with the theme of all the other films; it's about having heart and doing what you were born to do.

Rocky is feeling the sting of old age. Adrian has passed away and his son (played by Milo Ventimiglia) has grown even more distant. Rocky spends his days recounting old boxing stories for the customers at his restaurant, visiting Adrian's grave, and chatting with an even more bitter Paulie. A computerized match-up between him and current heavyweight champ Mason "The Line" Dixon (played by real life boxer Antonio Tarver) encourages Rocky to get a license to box again, which is immediately followed by an invitation from Dixon's managers to fight the reigning champ himself in a full-blown exhibition match. Another training montage follows, Rocky reunites with his son, and he gives one more good fight before finally hanging up his gloves, content and satisfied.

All of the different elements of this film sync up just right in a very feel-good way. It's all about life changing as time goes on, yet retaining the same heart in spite of that. Early in the film, Rocky is visiting places where he and Adrian spent time together (all locations from the original) and Paulie accuses him of living in the past. Whereas Paulie would rather forget the past (admitting he was never very nice to his sister) Rocky isn't content to just move on. Being old doesn't mean being useless, which is exemplified in a scene where he decides to adopt an elderly dog as opposed to a younger one. He tells the son of Marie (Geraldine Hughes) - whom he met as a child in the first film and still affectionately calls "Little Marie" - that just because something's worn out doesn't mean its time is over yet. 

This film is also instantly quotable, with such exemplary lines such as when Rocky tells his son "It ain't about how hard you hit, but about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward" or my personal favorite, when Marie asks Rocky why he's being so nice to her and her son, to which he replies "Why do you have to give something to get something?" It's truly touching, and after having absorbed the rest of the series, it stands as a fitting end to the franchise, perfectly book-ending the tale of one man's life. As Marie tells Rocky before his final fight, "You're going to show them that the last thing to age in this world is the heart."

And that's ultimately what I think I find so appealing about the series as a whole. I don't look at it as six separate films, but as one single story broken into six chapters. Rocky is a character that's curiously like Forrest Gump; he doesn't undergo a very radical transformation over the course of his life, but instead remains stalwart as the world and friends/family change around him. Each film essentially follows the same formula, but there are enough subtle tweaks to make each appealing and different in their own way. Even a character such as Paulie, who remains gruff and bitter until the end, is given enough material over six films that you feel for him and the life he's lived alongside our favorite underdog; he was downright abusive towards his sister in the early films, but by the end you can see what toll his life has taken on him, living alone without accomplishing anything significant on his own and blaming everyone but himself, but you also finally see the love and respect he has for Rocky, his best friend. 

The Rocky franchise snuck up on me, with one entry after another fueling my appreciation for the series. Some parts are fun, some downright absurd, but it always remains touching and inspiring - the tale of one man's extraordinary life. I'll admit I probably have a different appreciation for it having watched the final entry first and then playing catch-up over the course of a weekend with the help of a Spike TV marathon (sorta like my relationship with the Harry Potter books, without the Spike TV, obviously) but it holds a special place in my heart, more so than most other franchises. Despite some entries feeling out of place, taken as a whole they all work, flowing seamlessly from one chapter of Rocky's life into the next, from a down-on-his-luck young underdog to a content old man at the end of his rather amazing journey. It's ultimately a story about following your passion and apologizing to no one for it. As Marie tells Rocky when he's questioning whether he should step back into the ring, "Fighters fight."

You gotta do what you love.